There are many reasons to get a Criminal Defense Attorney. For example, if the issue involves the constitution, you will want the attorney. The same is true if you have been accused of a crime. Keep reading to find out when you might need to have a criminal defense attorney.Unfortunately, authorities may occasionally violate an…
Ignition Locks – A Serious Penalty After a MO DWI Conviction
If you are convicted of a DWI in Missouri, you might have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. You will be required to blow into the device before starting the vehicle. Also, you might have to blow in it while driving to ensure you are not drinking. Take a closer look at the laws and requirements for ignition interlock devices in Missouri.
Ignition interlock devices and DWIs in Missouri
People who must use an interlock ignition device are responsible for the purchase and installation. Convicted parties choose from a list of approved vendors and purchase the device directly. It is required to install the device on all vehicles the driver operates. Devices cannot be shared, so if two people in the same household are convicted, both must install devices.
First offense DWI
Those who are convicted of a first offense DWI will have their licenses suspended for 30 days. Then, they receive Restricted Driving Privilege for the next 60 days. During that time, drivers must use an interlock ignition device to start and operate the vehicle. People have the option of skipping the 30-day suspension and getting a 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege instead.
Interested parties must submit a Request for Immediate 90-Day Restricted Driving Privilege form to the Driver License Bureau. Then, drivers must follow that up with proof they installed an ignition interlock device along with proof of SR-22 insurance.
Subsequent DWI offenses
The penalties are stiffer for each subsequent DWI. Those convicted of a second offense face a license revocation of one to five years. After reinstating the license, people must use the interlock device for at least six months. Additional offenses are felonies, and the license will receive a suspension for 10 years. Once reinstated, it is crucial to install the device for at least six months.
Ignition interlock device violations
Missouri has rules in place for people who use ignition interlock devices. Violations include blowing over the preset limit, missing an appointment to service the device, and refusing to blow while driving. Also, it is a violation to drive a vehicle that does not have an ignition interlock device. Violators might be required to use the device for an additional six months. People can also lose driving privileges and go to jail.
Drivers need to understand that a situation might arise when they need to refuse a test when driving. While uncommon, it might ask for a running test when the driver is navigating traffic. People generally have the option to refuse that test and submit to one once out of traffic. This is normally not a violation.
Getting help with DWIs
If you have been charged with a DWI, you might have to use an interlock ignition device. While this is a serious penalty, it can also help you get your driving privileges back sooner. An attorney might be able to help you get a device sooner so you can get to work or school. Contact an attorney if you have any questions regarding your DWI charge or conviction.
Call us at (417) 865-2181 for more information from Dean Price Law or to schedule a consultation in our office in Springfield. NOTE: This is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.
Check out what others are saying about our services on Yelp: Read our Yelp reviews.
An existing criminal record can create all sorts of annoyances, ranging from feelings of shame to outright discrimination. Fortunately, in the state of Missouri, a solution may be available: expungement. Expungement is the process in which someone can either limit access to their criminal records or have them physically destroyed. It is also sometimes known…
A sex crime lawyer represents clients charged with coerced or illegal sexual conduct. If convicted, defendants can expect severe penalties, such as prison time, large fines, and registering as a sex offender. Since a conviction can follow you for the rest of your life, mounting a defense is critical. Learn about the common types of…
Marijuana possession charges can often be dismissed due to the steadily relaxing views on marijuana use and possession. Still, the fact remains that marijuana possession is federally illegal. In fact, marijuana has not even been decriminalized in Missouri. It is true that jail time is not necessarily a consequence of marijuana possession. However, pleading guilty…